Monday – I’m still not very good with titles

I have been trying to put a funny spin on things that’ve been going on at The Arsenal the past few days. What had started as a drunken rant about Messi has turned into a humor oriented blog about largely Arsenal and their crazy transfer window. Atleast I seem to have seen the funny side of it. For a brief amount of time. But no matter how hard I seemed to try recently,it has been difficult to see past the dark and gloomy image that the media have been projecting vis-a-vis Arsenal. Consequently, it’s been an exercise in futility for an amateur blogger such as myself to write about it and still give it a humorous flavor. Now,that didn’t help at all as I don’t seem to be able to neatly cluster my thoughts down into something I can make sense of and yet write something poignant,something which reflects the mixture of emotions that I feel while browsing through the sheer amount of press coverage doing the rounds. I have much more fun when I manage to put a more ‘what’s-getting-you-so-worked-up’ side to things.

Hence,I proceeded to occupy myself with other things. The problem with this? I had to make do with movies which I had already seen just a few days back. The same things,over and over again. Even my playlist resembled a vague cry for redemption from the endless hours of boredom and inactivity that I was dealing with. In fact,I think listening to a single song for days on a stretch was the only thing I could brag about. I had already finished all the comic books I wanted to read some time back. The weekend was still a couple of days away,when I could finally go back to the institute and download something interesting.  I really needed to find something else to do other than constantly stare at my timeline and wait for links that inevitably talked about how the club is going to spontaneously combust between angry rants about the club’s structure and cries for patience. A lack of football wasn’t helping,the culprit being dodgy streams and a terribly slow internet connection. I needed something to happen. Anything.

Nothing really happened though. Unless you count the fact that my roommate decided to go home for a few weeks,leaving me with some much needed alone time.. *nudge nudge,wink wink*

The wheel seems to be turning,however. The players are reporting back today for pre-season even though Nasri and Cesc are due a few days later,and as long as Cesc stays I am not going to worry myself to death over anything. Regarding the rumors about whether Van Persie,Walcott and Arshavin will start the Arsenal equivalent of The Great Migration in the Serengeti plains,I don’t think there’s much to say,really. Especially when the same papers who started the rumors think that Spurs insisting on not selling Bale and Modric is a big indication of ambition that Arsenal would do well to learn from. Clichy looks almost certain to leave as he’s reportedly undergoing a medical some time today at City. Even though it has been four days since the actual transfer window opened,I’d expect some kind of action pretty soon including the increasingly likely signing of Gervinho. Expect a few official statements from the club this week or the next or the one after that…this summer,whenever.

More importantly, I have quite a few things to keep me occupied,finally. Batman is pretty interesting and X-Men’s first issue,despite corny jokes about Jean Grey (Did you know she was called Marvel Girl? I never knew!) has set things up nicely for further reading. Finding Asterix again was a killer. I ought to flog myself for ever doubting how funny it’d be despite reading almost every issue a million times. Maybe I can rip something off of it for the blog. Or maybe I don’t need to write anything anymore. Whatever it is, things are more pleasant right now than ever and it’ll be amusing to see what the media thinks will transpire at London Colney in the next few days. Even doomsday predictions are welcome. Everything takes on a whole different meaning when you are reading about people dealing with nuisances by drinking potions which make them invulnerable(ish).

Leave a comment